Print

Investor Webinar: Precarious Workplace Practices and Investor Risk at XPO Logistics

In this issue:

  • Shareholder Activism

    Join the CWC for an investor webinar on precarious workplace practices and investor risk at XPO Logistics

Shareholder Activism

Date: April 19, 2017

Time: 8:00 PDT (Vancouver) | 11:00 EDT (New York) | 16:00 BST (London) | 17:00 CEST (Paris) | 1:00 [04/30] AEDT Sydney

Click to register here

The CWC is hosting a webinar on April 19th to provide investors with critical information about the poor environmental and social record at XPO Logistics Inc. and to present the case for XPO shareholders to support a shareholder proposal at the company’s upcoming AGM on May 10 (tentative).

The shareholder proposal, filed by the International Brotherhood of Teamsters General Fund, asks the company to improve its disclosure of corporate-wide environmental, social and governance practices by issuing an annual sustainability report. The webinar will focus particularly on the legal, financial, operational and reputational risks the company faces as a result of its poor record on workplace practices and labour standards.

As one of the world’s largest global, third-party logistics companies, XPO's ESG exposure involves a complex set of processes and relationships within global supply chains. XPO provides transportation and logistical services to 63% of Fortune 100 companies, including Nestle, Marks & Spencer, Zara, L’Oreal, Unilever, Kellogg’s and IKEA.

The webinar will provide institutional shareholders and advisors an opportunity to ask questions of XPO workers and the filers of the resolution as well as representatives from the National Labor Project and SHARE who will provide insights into the investment risks associated with precarious workplace practices.

Presenters:

  • Michael Pryce-Jones and Luis Malizia, Teamsters
  • XPO Freight & Port Drivers
  • Rebecca Smith, The National Employment Law Project
  • Shannon Rohan, SHARE

Background Materials

View All News

join now!

Discover the benefits of membership